Search found 20 matches

by Schomberg
Thu Oct 17, 2019 9:40 am
Forum: Beneath the Lily Banners
Topic: First game and a few questions
Replies: 13
Views: 2082

Re: First game and a few questions

@Flick40 Absolutely. Btw, your photograph is excellent. Really nice set up. I am so jealous. We are playing WoTK using 10mm Pendraken and refought the Break of Dromore a couple of weeks ago. The next LOA club battle is going to be a ‘what if’ scenario. The Battle of Moyry Pass will be representing w...
by Schomberg
Wed Oct 16, 2019 11:40 am
Forum: Beneath the Lily Banners
Topic: First game and a few questions
Replies: 13
Views: 2082

Re: First game and a few questions

@flick40

Why is squadron C not in a Supporting Role? Are you confusing Supporting and Reinforcing in your last reply?

Although not the best laid out question, please regard Squadron B and C as a two squadron Brigade of Horse.
by Schomberg
Tue Oct 15, 2019 9:33 am
Forum: Beneath the Lily Banners
Topic: First game and a few questions
Replies: 13
Views: 2082

Re: First game and a few questions

Sorry to keep going on but, Two Squadrons of Horse are in melee combat(A and B). B Squadron is being supported by allied Squadron C. The initial combat is a draw and both units are required to fight another bound/round of combat(in the same turn). Squadron C freely moves to reinforce Squadron B but ...
by Schomberg
Mon Oct 14, 2019 7:51 pm
Forum: Beneath the Lily Banners
Topic: First game and a few questions
Replies: 13
Views: 2082

Re: First game and a few questions

Thanks for that. Bounds and rounds are the same thing then. If the result of a melee is that the opponents fight another round of combat, do they do so immediately or in the following round? I assume that it means the latter but confirmation would be good. Secondly, if melee or shooting ends with th...
by Schomberg
Fri Oct 11, 2019 2:09 pm
Forum: Beneath the Lily Banners
Topic: First game and a few questions
Replies: 13
Views: 2082

Re: First game and a few questions

Thanks for your input Flick40.

Before I go any further. What exactly is a bound? I thought that it was just a consistent misspelling of ‘round’. Is there a difference?
by Schomberg
Fri Oct 11, 2019 9:29 am
Forum: Beneath the Lily Banners
Topic: First game and a few questions
Replies: 13
Views: 2082

Re: First game and a few questions

Morning Simon, I play Charges in much the same way as you have described in your second post. From your initial post though, it’s my reading that only the battalion being charged may give Incoming Fire against the charging Horse. Your supporting battalions of Foot may fire at the supporting Squadron...
by Schomberg
Sat Oct 05, 2019 7:58 pm
Forum: Wargaming the period 1660-1721
Topic: The Break of Dromore
Replies: 1
Views: 386

The Break of Dromore

Last night, our club played our own version of the Break of Dromore having been inspired by several earlier posts on the same subject. Our battle was somewhat different and we took quite a few of our cues from Sam Campbell’s piece in the Dromore Historical Society’s journal. In this version of the b...
by Schomberg
Fri Oct 04, 2019 11:45 am
Forum: Beneath the Lily Banners
Topic: Stand and fire question.
Replies: 7
Views: 681

Re: Stand and fire question.

Of course, I may be exhibiting slight bias towards this particular interpretation as it has the potential to be of benefit to my Enniskilleners. Devastating volley with horse stopped dead at 4” followed by (no order required) charge in the following round. ⚔️


One can but dream......🙂
by Schomberg
Fri Oct 04, 2019 11:41 am
Forum: Beneath the Lily Banners
Topic: Stand and fire question.
Replies: 7
Views: 681

Re: Stand and fire question.

I get what you are saying here. It just seems a little odd when the charge distance of Horse could start at anything up to 16” away and the extreme range of a Musket armed battalion is only 12”. I quite like the idea of the musketeers holding their nerve to deliver a devastating close range volley t...
by Schomberg
Fri Oct 04, 2019 11:31 am
Forum: Beneath the Lily Banners
Topic: All or Nothing Charge
Replies: 4
Views: 750

Re: All or Nothing Charge

Thanks, this confirms what my thinking was upon reviewing the appropriate section and is how we have been playing it since.
🙂
by Schomberg
Wed Oct 02, 2019 4:00 pm
Forum: Beneath the Lily Banners
Topic: Stand and fire question.
Replies: 7
Views: 681

Re: Stand and fire question.

Howdy, Yeah, I think that it’s reasonable to draw similarities between the two situations for these purposes. I believe that your point from page 71 is to take into account that Foot only have a Charge distance of 5 inches and obviously Ragged and Controlled Fire cannot force a Charge home test at t...
by Schomberg
Tue Oct 01, 2019 4:33 pm
Forum: Beneath the Lily Banners
Topic: Stand and fire question.
Replies: 7
Views: 681

Re: Stand and fire question.

Point 5 on page 116 in the Assault Rules section answered this question for me, though I can’t be sure I’m right. It seems that the level of fire received by the incoming troops on the Stand and Fire table determines where they stop. Ragged fire stops the attackers at long range and forces the Charg...
by Schomberg
Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:44 am
Forum: Beneath the Lily Banners
Topic: Wheeling as part of a Charge
Replies: 8
Views: 1424

Re: Wheeling as part of a Charge

Thank you.
by Schomberg
Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:54 am
Forum: Beneath the Lily Banners
Topic: All or Nothing Charge
Replies: 4
Views: 750

All or Nothing Charge

As I start to look at adding the additional rules, a question has popped up in play around the ‘all or nothing charge’. A two/three squadron regiment/brigade of Horse fails to break it’s opponent and remains in combat itself. Does the regiment/brigade retain it’s additional attacks in subsequent rou...
by Schomberg
Tue Aug 27, 2019 9:22 am
Forum: Beneath the Lily Banners
Topic: Wheeling as part of a Charge
Replies: 8
Views: 1424

Re: Wheeling as part of a Charge

@DHautpol

In reference to your first two points, that is also my updated interpretation of how things work.

In reference to the third point. I believe that the Charge must be completed, whether it leaves the Squadron exposed and Disordered or not. This charging malarkey is a risky business.

🙂