One balanced army

Any questions relating to Beneath the Lily Banners rule system.
Saxon Warrior
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

One balanced army

Post by Saxon Warrior » Mon Jun 23, 2008 10:30 pm

This is my first foray into a new period, in fact in thirty years of wargaming I have never done a "Horse and Musket" army before, no Napoleonics, ACW or whatever. But to the nitty gritty, what I plan is the following, Danish by the way.
2 Infantry brigades of three battalions
1 Converged Grenadier battalion (12 figs.)
2 Squadrons of Horse
2 Squadrons of Dragoons with dismounted dupes
2 Light guns (representing battalion guns)
1 9pdr. guns
plus appropriate Generals, engineers and assorted hangers on.

I'd appreciate advice, comments and constructive criticisms gentlemen.

Thanks in advance,

Dave.
Churchill
General
General

One balanced army

Post by Churchill » Tue Jun 24, 2008 2:25 pm

Hi Dave,

You don't say what Danish your thinking of building 1690's or later e.g. Marlburian allies.
I would say Brigades of 4 infantry battalions (each of 18 figures) this gives you 72 figures in a infantry brigade.Two brigades gives you 144 infantry figures.
In this period there should be a cavalry figure for every two infantrymen, so this gives you 72 cavalrymen, which equals 12 squadrons of 6 cavalry.
I'd totally agree with your artillery one light gun per infantry brigade and one field gun with three crew.
As for generals, one C-in-C, two infantry brigadier generals and two cavalry brigadier generals.
Converged Grenadier hmmm not sure :? research the army first if such units exist then go for it.
I'm building Marlborough's British army at Blenhiem 14 infantry btns in three brigades and 17 cavalry squadrons again in three brigades.

Hope this is of some help........Ray.

Heneborn
Major
Major

Post by Heneborn » Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:11 pm