charging

Any questions relating to Beneath the Lily Banners rule system.
Post Reply
markdo
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:57 am

charging

Post by markdo » Wed Jul 31, 2013 1:59 pm

Could I check that i have this right?

Horse declare charge in step 5. Is this when you check morale to initiate charge (p53)?
Receiving infantry roll for morale step 6. This is the morale check referred to on p40?
Move the charging unit step 7.
Step 10 says charging unit checks morale if received fire.
Close combat occurs.
Losers of close combat check morale again. Both are regarded as Disordered.

Is this right?
Mark
User avatar
j1mwallace
Major General
Major General
Posts: 720
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Dumfries, Scotland

Re: charging

Post by j1mwallace » Thu Aug 01, 2013 8:34 am

Yes. You are correct.
Declare charge, test to charge.
Test charge reaction by defender
give fire
test chargers to close in.
melee

cheers

Jim
User avatar
obriendavid
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 2559
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:41 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: charging

Post by obriendavid » Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:07 am

You are correct except that once the unit being charged has tested for morale it also tests to see how effective (what range) its fire is.
Remember the chargers don't have to test to charge home if no casualties from fire have been caused, when the rules first came out some people thought the chargers still had to test because they had been fired on.

Hope this helps?
Dave
markdo
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:57 am

Re: charging

Post by markdo » Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:40 pm

Many thanks to you both. Do all other morale tests come at step 12 of the sequence of play, then?
One other thing, as Colombo would say, the negative modifier for loss of say 1/3 of unit carries over onto subsequent turns, doesn't it?
Mark
User avatar
barr7430
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5870
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:22 pm
Location: EK,Scotland
Contact:

Re: charging

Post by barr7430 » Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:56 pm

yes it does. Increasing casualties are a continuous negative modifier
"If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you are probably right"

Henry Ford
User avatar
Redmist1122
Major General
Major General
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 6:43 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: charging

Post by Redmist1122 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:58 am

I have an additional question concerning the charge. In the case of a charging cavalry for example, who is doing an All or Nothing charge into a infantry unit. There's another infantry unit on the flank of the charging cavalry, can they shoot into the charging cavalry before they make contact to the original infantry unit? I know the infantry unit that was the target of the original charge, once pass their morale check can shoot at the charging cavalry unit, but not sure about any other collateral shooting at the charging unit.
Image

From the picture above - 2-squadron Dutch cavalry unit charging into the Swiss Guard infantry unit. Across the river is another French unit that would like to shoot into the flank of the charging Dutch cavalry unit.

Go or No-Go?

Thanks.
Greg P.
Tucson, AZ, USA
User avatar
barr7430
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5870
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:22 pm
Location: EK,Scotland
Contact:

Re: charging

Post by barr7430 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 9:19 am

No Greg. No support fire allowed. I am against support fire in any period except perhaps 20th-21st century wars. I don't believe communication would have allowed it never mind inclination!
Would a man who is not threatened by anything waste valuable powder, shot and a dirty musket/possible fouling or misfire on vaguely helping men he doesn't know(probably foreigners/mercenaries). Who would have given such an order? Commander on the spot.. unlikely to be there. Colonel... not a chance unless the other colonel was his son/brother.

As you can see, I have thought about it a lot! :wink:
"If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you are probably right"

Henry Ford
User avatar
obriendavid
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 2559
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:41 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: charging

Post by obriendavid » Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:07 pm

barr7430 wrote:No Greg. No support fire allowed. I am against support fire in any period except perhaps 20th-21st century wars.
Except where you added it into R2E for troops in their own brigade that is on defend orders :roll:
Have to remind him about everything :lol:
Cheers
Dave
User avatar
Greystreak
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 293
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:12 pm
Location: Buckinghamshire

Re: charging

Post by Greystreak » Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:19 pm

:shock: :roll: :lol:
Bryce
User avatar
flick40
Major General
Major General
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:24 pm
Location: Kansas City , Mo
Contact:

Re: charging

Post by flick40 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 4:38 pm

Well all that Barry said and then there's the flow of the turn, the charge move is over and done with before the shooting phase. Once contact is made there is no shooting into melee. Now if that horse unit fails to charge and are just left sitting there, then fire away. :)
"Is that your opinion or the game masters ruling?"
User avatar
Redmist1122
Major General
Major General
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 6:43 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: charging

Post by Redmist1122 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:16 pm

Gents,
Jumping back in full swing in playing BLB, kinda forget the odds and ends.

Thanks again.
Greg P.
Tucson, AZ, USA
User avatar
barr7430
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5870
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:22 pm
Location: EK,Scotland
Contact:

Re: charging

Post by barr7430 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:35 pm

actually Dave for once I DID remember about R2E support fire on defend orders.. but as I was typing the answer.. I forgot it again :lol:
"If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you are probably right"

Henry Ford
User avatar
Redmist1122
Major General
Major General
Posts: 547
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 6:43 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: charging

Post by Redmist1122 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 9:31 pm

Barry,
Good to know about RtE. I bought the set a while ago, and once I get my act together with BLB re-basing, then it's off with the Naps.

Thanks again.
Greg P.
Tucson, AZ, USA
Post Reply