Wheel manoeuvre

Any questions relating to Beneath the Lily Banners rule system.
Post Reply
User avatar
Bert
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 6:24 am
Location: Nantes - France

Wheel manoeuvre

Post by Bert » Mon Apr 04, 2016 5:14 am

Hi
I found nothing about "Wheeling" in the rules. Could someone explain that ?
- Like many other miniatures rules i must use a "wheeling" template ?

- The mouvement chart say "1/2 rate line"
I understand that a foot unit in line may wheel for a maximum of 2" in one turn ? and a Horse unit : 4" ?
- Is there a maximum angle permitted for this manoeuvre ?

Thx
User avatar
quindia
General
General
Posts: 1255
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:51 am
Location: Chesapeake, VA USA
Contact:

Re: Wheel manoeuvre

Post by quindia » Mon Apr 04, 2016 12:36 pm

You have it right. Units wheeling do so at half rate. A wheeling template is a good tool, but not necessary, at least at my table. If an infantry unit wheels 1 3/4" or 2 1/4" I wouldn't be bothered. There is no maximum angle - the unit is limited by it's movement rate.

I only employ wheeling for minor adjustments. You may issue a FORM order and rotate a unit around it's central stand up to 90 degrees (see the Changing Formations chart on page 27). This is usually better for drastic realignment.

Note that wheeling is handled differently when charging (page 40). You could always adapt this rule for normal maneuvers as well, though I'd use d3 rather than a d6.

Hope this helps...
User avatar
Bert
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 6:24 am
Location: Nantes - France

Re: Wheel manoeuvre

Post by Bert » Mon Apr 04, 2016 4:54 pm

Very clear.

Merci ! :wink:
Post Reply