Imperialist Cuirassiers

Any questions relating to Beneath the Lily Banners rule system.
Post Reply
JoeM
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:54 am

Imperialist Cuirassiers

Post by JoeM » Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:22 am

Have just been trying out two new aspects of the rules - Imperial Cuirassiers and the All or Nothing charge. Two things weren't clear and would appreciate some clarification from those of you more knowledgeable please.

First: We had a regiment of Drilled Blade French Horse (2 troops) doing an All or Nothing charge at a single troop of Drilled Imperial Cuirassiers who chose a Bullet-volley response after they had successfully passed their morale test. The Cuirassiers inflicted one shooting casualty on the French as they were coming in and another in the subsequent combat. The French inflicted 3 casualties so won. The Cuirassiers did their morale test - rolling an 8 - passed with flying colours. Now the Combat Results Table says they should fight the second round disordered but on p173 the special rule on cuirassiers says they fight the second round not disordered and with the full number of dice (as per the initial round). So the question is does that apply even when they have lost the initial round of combat?

Second: We had a melee where both sides kept rolling woeful dice for combat but great dice in morale. To bring it to an end we decided to inflict one casualty for fatigue for each round of combat which eventually wore out both units but not sure that is the right way to resolve such situation?

Thanks
Joe
User avatar
barr7430
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5845
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:22 pm
Location: EK,Scotland
Contact:

Re: Imperialist Cuirassiers

Post by barr7430 » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:23 pm

Hello Joe,

the Imperialist special rules supersedes the disorder definition in the rules. Yes the rule applies if they have lost the first round of combat - in fact, this is the very circumstance it was created for.

Second situation is exactly as you fought it. One casualty is always taken by each side even if the dice resulted in no casualties. Casualties are not just men 'killed or wounded' but represent fatigue and ability to fight. It is possibly to rack up several rounds of lousy dice - not winners, morale checks passed and units written down to zero.
"If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you are probably right"

Henry Ford
JoeM
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:54 am

Re: Imperialist Cuirassiers

Post by JoeM » Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:19 am

Thanks Barry for clearing that up :D

Cheers
Joe
Attachments
image.png
image.png (345 Bytes) Viewed 445 times
Post Reply