Page 1 of 1

Imperialist Cuirassiers

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:22 am
by JoeM
Have just been trying out two new aspects of the rules - Imperial Cuirassiers and the All or Nothing charge. Two things weren't clear and would appreciate some clarification from those of you more knowledgeable please.

First: We had a regiment of Drilled Blade French Horse (2 troops) doing an All or Nothing charge at a single troop of Drilled Imperial Cuirassiers who chose a Bullet-volley response after they had successfully passed their morale test. The Cuirassiers inflicted one shooting casualty on the French as they were coming in and another in the subsequent combat. The French inflicted 3 casualties so won. The Cuirassiers did their morale test - rolling an 8 - passed with flying colours. Now the Combat Results Table says they should fight the second round disordered but on p173 the special rule on cuirassiers says they fight the second round not disordered and with the full number of dice (as per the initial round). So the question is does that apply even when they have lost the initial round of combat?

Second: We had a melee where both sides kept rolling woeful dice for combat but great dice in morale. To bring it to an end we decided to inflict one casualty for fatigue for each round of combat which eventually wore out both units but not sure that is the right way to resolve such situation?


Re: Imperialist Cuirassiers

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:23 pm
by barr7430
Hello Joe,

the Imperialist special rules supersedes the disorder definition in the rules. Yes the rule applies if they have lost the first round of combat - in fact, this is the very circumstance it was created for.

Second situation is exactly as you fought it. One casualty is always taken by each side even if the dice resulted in no casualties. Casualties are not just men 'killed or wounded' but represent fatigue and ability to fight. It is possibly to rack up several rounds of lousy dice - not winners, morale checks passed and units written down to zero.

Re: Imperialist Cuirassiers

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:19 am
by JoeM
Thanks Barry for clearing that up :D