All or Nothing Charge

Any questions relating to Beneath the Lily Banners rule system.
Post Reply
Schomberg
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:55 am

All or Nothing Charge

Post by Schomberg » Fri Aug 30, 2019 9:54 am

As I start to look at adding the additional rules, a question has popped up in play around the ‘all or nothing charge’.

A two/three squadron regiment/brigade of Horse fails to break it’s opponent and remains in combat itself.
Does the regiment/brigade retain it’s additional attacks in subsequent rounds?
User avatar
flick40
Major General
Major General
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:24 pm
Location: Kansas City , Mo
Contact:

Re: All or Nothing Charge

Post by flick40 » Fri Oct 04, 2019 1:33 am

The All or Nothing combat bonus of number of stands that get to fight only count in the initial bound of combat. After that the additional sqdns only provide support bonuses. Morale results are carried across all sqdns involved like normal and combat is lost once the principle unit is wiped out.
"Is that your opinion or the game masters ruling?"
Schomberg
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:55 am

Re: All or Nothing Charge

Post by Schomberg » Fri Oct 04, 2019 11:31 am

Thanks, this confirms what my thinking was upon reviewing the appropriate section and is how we have been playing it since.
🙂
User avatar
barr7430
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5851
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:22 pm
Location: EK,Scotland
Contact:

Re: All or Nothing Charge

Post by barr7430 » Fri Oct 04, 2019 12:49 pm

This rule was being adopted as the default setting for multi squadron cavalry regiments which is why I moved it to the optional section. It was an 'in extremis' rule which gained popularity because some players could see the win potential in it.

That, as anyone who knows me well, is not, how it was conceived and envisaged.
"If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you are probably right"

Henry Ford
User avatar
flick40
Major General
Major General
Posts: 544
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:24 pm
Location: Kansas City , Mo
Contact:

Re: All or Nothing Charge

Post by flick40 » Fri Oct 04, 2019 4:36 pm

Hi Barry,
I believe your design was to use it as a rare last ditch"we need to win this fight", but it turned into everyday use. When teaching the rules I don't even cover it as an option.
"Is that your opinion or the game masters ruling?"
Post Reply