BLB "War of the 3 KIngs"; Newbie Questions

Any questions relating to Beneath the Lily Banners rule system.
SJW

BLB "War of the 3 KIngs"; Newbie Questions

Post by SJW » Thu Nov 02, 2023 5:57 am

I've just acquired "War of the 3 KIngs" which I see is the 3rd edition of "Beneath the Lily Banners". I'm new to this period and plan to game it in 10mm. I have a few questions;
(a) Is there a QRF anywhere? I can find one online for the 2nd edition but not 3rd.

As I said I plan to game in 10mm. 28s look lovely but I just won't get them painted. Does anyone who also games it in 10mm have a view on the following;

(b) What base sizes to use? I plan to still use the 18-figure/12 figure sized units, but was wondering about the actual base sizes. I plan to buy a pack of figures at Warfare to have a trial unit set-up.

(3) The rules for movement and shooting are given in inches, which is fine for 28mm but probably not 10mm. Dropping to centimetres feels too small as units will hardly move!. What would anyone recommend? I was thinking of making up bespoke rulers marked in either 15mm or 20mm increments.

Thanks in advance for any help and advice.
SJW

Re: BLB "War of the 3 KIngs"; Newbie Questions

Post by SJW » Thu Nov 02, 2023 9:56 am

By the way having looked through some of the other posts I have found the link to the QRF for "War of the Three Kings".

Many thanks.
DHautpol
Private
Private

Post by DHautpol » Wed Nov 15, 2023 3:57 pm

I have done armies for BLB using Pendraken's 10mm League of Augsburg range and basically substituted centimetres for inches.

The bases are 25mm square for foot and 30mm square for horse, giving 18 figures for foot (plus another 6 on the pike bases) and 12 figures for horse.

You can see how they looked on the Pendraken Forum site in the "Army" category of the 2016 Painting Competition.
https://www.pendrakenforum.co.uk/index. ... 497.0.html
SJW

Post by SJW » Thu Nov 16, 2023 6:09 am