A few R2E questions

Questions, chat, feedback and developments relating to REPUBLIC TO EMPIRE... Wargaming the wars of Napoleon Bonaparte.
Post Reply
User avatar
18th Century Guy
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
Posts: 491
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 10:47 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA U.S.A.
Contact:

A few R2E questions

Post by 18th Century Guy » Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:26 am

We were testing out the rules just the other day with some new players and a couple of questions came up.

1. Since charging comes after musket fire, can you fire and charge in the same turn?

2. If a unit's retreat path has it end up physically inside another unit, what is the impact on both units for the rest of the turn and for the next turn as well?

3. For the Charge Threat Reaction, does it happen only when an enemy unit comes into range and LOS for the first time or once units are in range they then take the reaction test every turn?

4. When a unit is passed through by retreating (or routing) friendly's, is the disorder for being passed through gone almost immediately or does it last for the rest of that phase/turn? Does it carry over into the next turn?

Thanks!
Greg
User avatar
barr7430
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5851
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:22 pm
Location: EK,Scotland
Contact:

Re: A few R2E questions

Post by barr7430 » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:34 am

Greg, just saw this answers in sequence:

1. Charging units can't fire

2. Interpenetration causes disorder. A retreating unit is disordered anyway. If it bursts through or fails to clear the interpenetration of a friendly unit that friendly unit is disordered this phase and if the other player has yet to go that turn, for their phase too.

3. Charge threat reaction only happens if the enemy unit has ATTACK orders - obviously the checking unit would see aggressive battlefield manouevring in the distance and suspect a charge was imminent. It happens only once - you pass or fail.

4. See answer above. Units remain disordered until a FORM order is given
"If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you are probably right"

Henry Ford
User avatar
18th Century Guy
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
Posts: 491
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 10:47 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA U.S.A.
Contact:

Re: A few R2E questions

Post by 18th Century Guy » Mon Jan 22, 2018 2:27 pm

Thank you sir!

I'm sure we'll have more as we play through them.

Greg
Greg
Post Reply