VWQ Campaign - Ireland

A board for questions and discussion relating to Clarence Harrison's ECW focused rules which are growing in popularity. Please post here for questions and discussion relating to VWQ
Post Reply
User avatar
Emir of Askaristan
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Contact:

VWQ Campaign - Ireland

Post by Emir of Askaristan » Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:47 am

Folks,
My local club is about to kick off a VWQ campaign set in Ireland. I'll keep you posted with results and where possible, piccies too.
All the Best

The Emir
User avatar
Emir of Askaristan
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Contact:

Re: VWQ Campaign - Ireland

Post by Emir of Askaristan » Thu Aug 22, 2013 10:22 am

Our first game was a battle between Scottish Covenanters backing the interest of their countrymen in Ulster and the Irish "rebels" under O'Neil.

That battle itself saw the two sides face off on open moorland with a farm on one flank and forest on the other. The scots deployed in regular formation with their foot and gun in the centre supported on either flank by horse. The Irish also deployed their foot centrally but placed their gun on the forested flank, hoping the dense woodland would prevent it from being attacked. Their two horse regiments deployed on the opposite flank, near the farm.

The battle was relatively straight forward, with the infantry firing eventually winning the day for the scots as the Irish horse were unable to make much headway on the flank due to the position of the farm and its associated enclosures . The scots suffered from the galling fire of the Irish gun, more so when their own blew up as the result of a bad event, carelessly fumbled match and spilt powder! But in the end they succeeded in driving the Irish infantry from the field in flight - a consequence of fighting a defensive battle and not being far enough into the table!!

Some questions arose as we have a few people playing who haven't used the rules and developed their own customary way of playing....


1) can artillery fire using an officers card?
2) can field artillery turn and fire in the same turn?

Up til now we have allowed officers cards to be used to caused any unit to fire. We've also played it so that field arty may not turn and fire in the same turn.

Clarence, which of the above is correct?
All the Best

The Emir
User avatar
quindia
General
General
Posts: 1255
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:51 am
Location: Chesapeake, VA USA
Contact:

Re: VWQ Campaign - Ireland

Post by quindia » Fri Aug 23, 2013 1:56 am

1) can artillery fire using an officers card?
Yes! However, only one gun may be given orders per card...

2) can field artillery turn and fire in the same turn?
No. Any movement, including turning precludes firing.

Glad you guys enjoyed the game!
User avatar
Emir of Askaristan
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:59 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Contact:

Re: VWQ Campaign - Ireland

Post by Emir of Askaristan » Fri Aug 23, 2013 5:38 am

Thanks Clarence,
More games to follow - pics too if we can get the lights sorted!!
All the Best

The Emir
Post Reply