Page 1 of 1

Flank attack - stand and fire

Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 11:42 am
by Simon15
I noticed in the messages about flank attacks that units charged in the flank can only fire with one base. Am I right in thinking that units can normally only fire directly ahead? If so not sure about this.

Regards Simon

Re: Flank attack - stand and fire

Posted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 9:55 pm
by flick40
Yes units can only shoot straight ahead but as long as any part of the target unit is in the 'box' it can be shot at with all stands. See Pg 5 photo, had that horse unit had any portion inside the shaded box it could be fired upon by unit A.

The turn a stand to face a flank attack is to give the defending foot a chance, however small, to defend itself. Its not in the core rules and I think it was added later either by Clarence or another player as an errata of rules to try out. If you don't like it don't bother with it.