It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:12 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Combine Units
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 5:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 4:01 pm
Posts: 7
Can units that have taken casualties be combined? We were playing last night and I had a lone survivor of one unit who did not run away and I thought that he could join up with a like type unit, but could not find it in the rule book. I had thought I saw it in the rules, but could be confusing rules from different games.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Combine Units
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 7:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 4:51 am
Posts: 1224
Location: Chesapeake, VA USA
It might not be in there, but yes, you can do that as long as they are similar skill levels (d6, d8, etc) and similar type (foot or mounted) AND as long as it won't make the new unit more than 12 rank and file (not including characters). You might restrict the weapon type as (a pikeman can't join a unit of muskets), but I generally let that go.

Sometimes I play a variant called Lone Survivor... when a unit is reduced to a single model and that figure passes his morale test with 'carry on' his die is increased by +1 step and he is treated as a character the rest of the game (immune to further morale tests, save on the wound chart, etc). The guy is obviously a bad - to have survived (or maybe a Flashman anti-hero deserving of the wound save). Of course, you need to name him. Just leave the unit card in the deck and treat it as a character card for the rest of the game.

Hope that helps!

_________________
Clarence
http://www.quindiastudios.blogspot.com

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Combine Units
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 2:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2012 3:11 am
Posts: 5
Very cool idea. I remember battle ground ww2 had a similar rule.

_________________
http://givemlead.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Combine Units
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 4:01 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks, yes it does.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
[ Time : 0.066s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]