Road to Salamanca

All matters to do with gaming, painting and uniform information
BP
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

Road to Salamanca

Post by BP » Sat Aug 27, 2011 9:46 pm

This topic has been inspired by Jim's many trips to Perdition, its a brief history of my first foray into Napoleonics. Something I have always wanted to do, but the cost and time and lack of painting ability always held me back. Unfortunately the availability of plastics negated 1 of those and being self employed has negated one of the others by having to work away from home and subsequently having lots of time in the evening. Painting keeps me out of the pubs :shock:

There is not a lot I can do about the lack of talent I'm afraid :|

The first figure I painted had green facings and subsequently he needed a unit/brigade/division. This became the start of the 11th North Devonshire in Hulses Brigade of the 6th Division at Salamanca.

I started painting in January 2010 and by the end of June I had painted 4 battalions and 2 guns/limber and crews. The 2 guns were chosen as initially Black Powder was to be used. Thankfully I discovered R2E, but alas I needed an extra gun. I was then working at home so painting stalled, but started again in December when I painted 2 Portuguese Battalions, and in April 2011 I was again away from home so I have painted the 2 additional battalions of British and recently just finished the 3 battalions of Portuguese and the gun and limber that was outstanding. Some of that needs based though.