Musicians of the British 1st Guards Regiment

All matters to do with gaming, painting and uniform information
Belg
Major
Major

Musicians of the British 1st Guards Regiment

Post by Belg » Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:05 pm

Hello,
I started painting one of the "battalion pack" of the Front Rank miniatures of British Infantry, with the intention of representing the 1st Guards Regiment at Waterloo.
I arose a doubt about the color of the uniform of the Musicians.
From the information I have found in the books in my possession, I read that the color of the Musicians coat was that of the distinctive color of the Regiment, with the red collar and cuffs.
Regarding the 1st Guards Regiment, however, I found these two images, in which the jacket instead of the musician is the same as that of the other men, namely red, with a collar and cuffs, I think, blue or white with blue border.
In your opinion is it correct? Regiments of the Guard did not follow the general rule, their musicians had a special uniform than that of Musicians of the other regiments?
The distinctive color of the Regiment, namely that of the collar and cuffs, should be blue, but, instead, that of the flag is red, and this is a variant compared to the other regiments, in which the color of the flag is the same as that of the collar and cuffs.. And 'perhaps for this reason that even the musicians had the red jacket?
Those reproduced in the two designs are therefore correct?
Thank you very much.
greetings

http://www.1789-1815.com/images/Planches/W04_50.gif

http://centjours.mont-saint-jean.com/un ... 7&nation=1
Rod MacArthur

Re: Musicians of the British 1st Guards Regiment

Post by Rod MacArthur » Mon Aug 05, 2013 2:40 pm

Beig,

The sources you show are correct. The Foot Guards drummers wore scarlet (red) jackets with the inverted chevron lace on the sleeves (they still do).