Inspiration from Paintings... good or not ?

A section devoted to questions and answers for this period.
chema1986
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

Inspiration from Paintings... good or not ?

Post by chema1986 » Mon Jun 09, 2014 9:51 am

Hello Gents,
I have seen on Lead-Adventure forum that someone posted the new painting from Augusto Ferrer Dalmau , titled "The Spanish Road"

I find it gorgeous and a great source of inspiration for miniature painting purposes... What do you think ?
Are nowadays paintings trustworthy with uniforms ? The previous painting is obviously from 30 years war, but with our "main" period , the Grand Alliance era and Marlburian , I have not seen so many paintings or illustrations, so I have collected a couple which deal with the LoA War...
I started painting my Spanish Army when I saw the pikeman in green with red facings... So for me, it was a great inspiration

And a military governor (this time is from 1700... but the uniform is clearly XVII-ish :wink:

I have chosen this painter and these paintings because they are Spanish like me and are easier to find here... But of course I would be very interested in paintings and sources of inspiration on other Powers... major or minor.

Regards !

Chema
Artimas
First Lieutenant
First Lieutenant

Re: Inspiration from Paintings... good or not ?

Post by Artimas » Mon Jun 09, 2014 7:04 pm

Chema:

Let us hope that the artist has taken the time to do the research as any
reputable historical artist would do. Nevertheless, the prints you have
shown us are beautiful and I can understand your inspiration. I guess you will have to do your own checking to make sure that you can come as close to authentic uniforms as is possible.

Artimas
Jefferson City, Missouri USA
chema1986
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

Post by chema1986 » Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:04 am

Thanks Artimas ,