Quick Question on Orders

Any questions relating to Beneath the Lily Banners rule system.
Post Reply
viccina
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:52 pm

Quick Question on Orders

Post by viccina » Mon Sep 18, 2017 1:34 am

I just want to walk this through to make sure I have this correctly.
I have 1 Commander and 3 Brigadiers who are are commanding 8 units a piece for a total of 24 units.
The Commander (who is competent) rolls his 10d and gets a 5. The commander now gets to hand out 12 order markers, correct so far?

The 3 Brigadiers now have (for the sake of making it easy) 4 orders each and they place those behind each unit. Correct?

Now how would a brigade order work? I could have sworn I read somewhere in the rules that you could order everyone to do the same thing like Defend but you had to have enough order chits for each unit. Am I correct in this?

Thanks for answering the dumb questions. I'm getting ready to run my first game this coming Saturday.

Victor
User avatar
obriendavid
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 2557
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:41 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Quick Question on Orders

Post by obriendavid » Mon Sep 18, 2017 3:19 pm

There are no brigade orders in BLB, perhaps you are thinking of Republic to Empire or you could be thinking about our relight we did of Augrim a few years back?

I suggested in that game that we just counted up the number of brigades and then dice to see what percentage of brigades we could activate. This was only done because of the size of the game with about 150+ units per side, it would have taken too long to keep counting units each move.

Dave
viccina
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:52 pm

Re: Quick Question on Orders

Post by viccina » Mon Sep 18, 2017 7:52 pm

No I've never read Republic to Empire and I don't know what refight you are talking about.

The question still stands do I have the above sequence correct for the order procedure.

Also it appears there are Brigade orders page 21 states
"If a whole Brigade is being asked to perform the same order then one marker can be placed for the entire formation." It goes on to say that you need to have enough "Order Allowance" to move all of the Sub units. So my question is this what's the point? Other than to save time or does this rule fall under the heading of "Rally Back (Horse)" which is the paragraph above it and only applies to that?
User avatar
obriendavid
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 2557
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:41 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Quick Question on Orders

Post by obriendavid » Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:56 pm

The point you mention is just to cut down how many order markers you need especially if you are playing a very big game.

Dave
Dfogleman2
Brigadier General
Brigadier General
Posts: 420
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 4:45 pm

Re: Quick Question on Orders

Post by Dfogleman2 » Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:15 pm

In other words, if you have a brigade of four units and you want them all to start moving, you will need expend four orders, but only need to put down one order chit.
viccina
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:52 pm

Re: Quick Question on Orders

Post by viccina » Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:48 pm

Thanks.
User avatar
barr7430
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5851
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:22 pm
Location: EK,Scotland
Contact:

Re: Quick Question on Orders

Post by barr7430 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:53 pm

Absolutely correct thanks Dan and Dave you beat me to the punch!
"If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you are probably right"

Henry Ford
viccina
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:52 pm

Re: Quick Question on Orders

Post by viccina » Wed Sep 20, 2017 11:24 pm

Another question.

What's the difference between "To initiate a charge or assault" and "To charge home" on the morale check table? Where do I find it in the rules?
User avatar
obriendavid
General of the Army
General of the Army
Posts: 2557
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:41 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Quick Question on Orders

Post by obriendavid » Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:16 pm

viccina wrote:Another question.

What's the difference between "To initiate a charge or assault" and "To charge home" on the morale check table? Where do I find it in the rules?
I don't have the rules to hand at the mo but basically you test morale to charge, if you pass and charge your opponent they might have an opportunity to shoot you, if they cause any casualties on your unit then it has to test again to see if it charges home. If the enemy cause no casualties then you don't need to test to charge home you just move your troops into contact.

Dave
viccina
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:52 pm

Re: Quick Question on Orders

Post by viccina » Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:47 am

Thanks!
Post Reply