A board for questions and discussion relating to Clarence Harrison's ECW focused rules which are growing in popularity. Please post here for questions and discussion relating to VWQ
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 12:04 pm
I noticed in the messages about flank attacks that units charged in the flank can only fire with one base. Am I right in thinking that units can normally only fire directly ahead? If so not sure about this.
- Major General
- Posts: 548
- Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:24 pm
- Location: Kansas City , Mo
Yes units can only shoot straight ahead but as long as any part of the target unit is in the 'box' it can be shot at with all stands. See Pg 5 photo, had that horse unit had any portion inside the shaded box it could be fired upon by unit A.
The turn a stand to face a flank attack is to give the defending foot a chance, however small, to defend itself. Its not in the core rules and I think it was added later either by Clarence or another player as an errata of rules to try out. If you don't like it don't bother with it.
"Is that your opinion or the game masters ruling?"